quotheraven's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am not an artist!!

So I felt inspired to paint last night. I have never done that, painted I mean. I consider myself more of a writer than a painter, but I recently have been fixated on the artist Jean-Michel Basquiat (artwork is shown above) and just had this incredible urge to make some art of my own. I figured if his messy paintings could sell for several thousands of dollars, surely mine would at least get some recognition. So I went to Hobby Lobby and got an 8x10 canvas and a set of 59 oil crayons, just to start out with to practice so I wouldn't be out of too much money. I got home and poured myself a big glass of whole milk, went into my guest room and locked the door, put on Danzig's Dark Aria orchestra CD, and sat there staring at this blank canvas.

Song 1 was over, my milk was getting low. Song 2 was over, my milk was gone. Then I started having this vision of a scene in a forest, big willow trees on both sides kind of enframing the scene, dark blue night sky with twinkling stars in it, and the form of a red hooded cape running away, it's back to the picture. Fleeing, if you will. So I began to work, frantically like a real artist, making mistakes and referring to them as "character". Going over colors with others on purpose giving them depth. My fingers were covered in oil colors like a real painter. The songs could no longer keep up with me. My vision was so clear I could touch it just about. And then...the CD was over. There was not one single speck of white left on the canvas. I wiped my brow and my fingers on a towel. And then I actually saw the thing...

And it looked like a piece of hammered shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It looked like a stuck an oil crayon up my ass and sat on that canvas and jirated on it making marks all over the place! Oh you have no idea how bad it looked. LORD!

While trying to find my inner artist I came to the conclusion of this:

I will stick to the mediocrity of my literature and ONLY this! And a note to self... Never hold your farts in. They travel up your spine, into your brain, and that's where you get shitty ideas from.

8:57 a.m. - 2003-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

intralemma
rite153
zockendland
love-rains
dirtelilhole
dulligirl
ladeeleroy
blaiyze
DiscoTheKid
MattMagus
acid-reflux
porktornado
the-shed
candoor
notme2000